Sudden Inspiration

It is not easy, I have to tell, to experience a long-gone inspiration. It is a kind of inspiration that makes you remember something important and may lead to a significant change in your life. We live in a beautiful world, yet to keep a permanent inspiration is so hard. If you do have something like that, make sure to celebrate it from time to time.

Today, what I’m writing here is about some abstract inspirations, one of which has recently appeared when I’m in Hue, far away from Hanoi, from my university, from the Math Department in HUS. This afternoon, we have started to listen to something more difficult than two days ago, and the matters which Prof. Chau mentioned are about to go much more deeply next week, related to both Algebra and Geometry. Even if someone does not have Mathematics as his or her major, Algebra and Geometry still sound very familiar, right? Truth be told, they are two essential aspects that we all need to see in our daily lives.

How do you feel if you can suddenly see a figure that let you connect many of your complex thoughts into one? And what if that kind of figure, can be made similarly in many other cases if you pay more attention, and continue to think as deeply, as abstractly as you can? There is nothing more wonderful than what we can see, can touch, and can make it live with us when working. Only when going far from Hanoi like this can I have the chance to see more than what I thought. People around me may find the knowledge this afternoon really hard to absorb, but to me, it was simply magnificent and suitable to look into even more and get a bit closer to the origin of what is called Algebraic Geometry.

You know, I’d love to draw, although I cannot draw a proper picture for myself. Sketching in drafts is basically what I’ve done to prevent from being frustrated. I love thinking about abstract things whenever I can, and then try to look at a way in which I can find a figure for them. Curves, surfaces, shapes, or diagrams, schemes, whatever can help to make my complicated thoughts clearer, is fine. Furthermore, I even love writing about what I could imagine, and most of the time it comes from a sudden inspiration realized by my subconscious mind, yet still not be able to draw it out in reality. Stories to connect all the events, whether in a real or imaginary world, as long as there exists one grand picture to illustrate them in my mind, then everything will be fine. I am still not a creator yet, but I will try to do what I can, and seek the help in which I need the most. Thank you very much for that.

In general, an inspiration can come in anytime, and we can never expect it beforehand, which is actually what makes it feel like “a miracle”. You can find it from the road on which you’re walking, from the landscape which you’re seeing, and from the conversation that you’re having. It may come from your beloved ones, or it may come from a stranger, that we will never know. In fact, any sudden inspiration coming from an unexpected source is always more significant, and it may last for a long way than any of the things that we’ve experienced before.

There is also some kind of inspiration, which is not a new one. To be particular, that occurs when you suddenly remember something precious that you used to do a lot in the past, then it had to end in some unhappy way. And then, when it comes back one day, you feel as if your world is gradually changing. You feel happy for a sudden moment, and that is exactly what is miraculous. Congratulations to you on finding a way back to a long-gone inspiration. Our past may be hard, full of sadness and sorrow, but there will be always a light, which shines on the way you choose, as long as you never forget who you truly are and how you truly live.

Wow, how surprising, I have to save it for later. I will draw it, or, I will write a story about it. And, what about relating this inspiration to the problem I’m currently working on? Everything can be connected in some unexpected way, then why not go try it out?

That is how a beautiful product created, with a beautiful mind. As long as you keep your curious mind to look more into the world, with imagination and creativity, then the music of inspiration will crescendo.

Love can be a sudden inspiration which lasts forever.

 

One thought on “Sudden Inspiration

  1. Pingback: Author Interview – S.D. Mayes – “Letters to the Pianist” (Historical Thriller/Suspense) | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

Leave a comment